top of page

What do you run for? Wildlife Conservation Society’s Annual #RunfortheWild Campaign

Yesterday, April 29th 2017 was the Wildlife Conservation Society’s Run for the Wild 5K marathon, hosted at the Bronx Zoo. In order to participate in the run, desiring persons must register online, create a fundraising profile, and raise at least $30.00 prior to race day. The course of this race is unique from other New York races in that it takes places entirely within the Bronx Zoo. The starting line is the main entrance into the zoo, and then a scenic course loops three times around the grounds in order to bring the distance to 5K.

The largest perks for partaking in this race bear fruit when runners cross the finish line, including free admission into the zoo for the entire day, complimentary food and beverages, family events for all ages, a Beer Garden for 21+ runners, and certain prizes based on how much money runners have been able to raise prior to the race.

Last year, I ran in the 5K 8:45am Family Run & Walk (8:00am is for competitive adult runners), and it was fantastic experiencing such a beloved attraction from a different perspective. I am not an experienced runner, so during the race I was focused on keeping up with the group around me, but after I finished I enjoyed walking around all my favorite exhibits at my leisure.

I made sure to stop by the African lion exhibit. Although I could not get too close to get a better picture that day, it still meant a lot to get to see them, since lions have been my inspiring animal for the past few years. When you register for the race, as part of the fundraising page you answer the question, “Which animal do you run for?” I doubt the donations you make go to that animal specifically, but it might help WCS to know which animals Run for the Wild participants care about most.

Because African lions are my favorite animals, I love the shirt given out this year more than last year’s, since lions are prominently displayed on the front. Due to a family obligation and scheduling constraints, unfortunately I could not run at the Bronx Zoo this year and the volunteer positions were already filled by the time I enquired after them, but I still donated enough online in order to receive the shirt in the mail.

I am so glad I did, and in order to spiritually partake in the festivities, I put on my running gear early yesterday morning and ran 5K on the treadmill in my apartment building. Of course it wasn’t the same as last year, but I am still so glad I was able to donate, throwing my hat in the ring for the cause even though I couldn’t actually be there.

The most influential endeavors are those backed by passionate founders. What causes do you care about most? What would you marathon for?

bottom of page